This is the next post in my series on the handling of felony charges in our state. My last article discussed defending against Class “C” felonies in Arkansas. It is important that you take such charges seriously as they carry a sentence of up to ten years in prison. This can be in addition to time that may be imposed for other charges. Retaining an experienced lawyer is the first step towards ensuring that your rights remain protected. In this article I will discuss what one can expect from the process after they have been arrested on a Class “D” charge. If you or a family member are in need of assistance then contact my office today to speak with a Little Rock criminal defense lawyer.
Arkansas Class “D” felonies can result in up to six years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000
Arkansas will punish a Class “D” felony with up to six years of imprisonment as well as fines of up to $10,000. If the defendant is charged with multiple criminal counts then they run the risk of the sentencing judge requiring that the sentences for each count be served consecutively. This means, for example, that if a defendant is sentenced to five years in prison for a Class “D” felony, and to two years for a second count, then they may have to serve five years before any time is credited towards the second count. Also, a defendant who is convicted of a felony will be forever prohibited from possessing a firearm anywhere in the United States under 18 U.S.C 922(g). Additional penalties include having a permanent criminal record, which can make it difficult to obtain housing, employment, etc.
Examples of Class “D” felonies can include aggravated assault, breaking and entering, animal cruelty, possessing a firearm after having been previously convicted of a felony, etc. As with Class “C” felonies, Class “D” charges often involve acts which are committed simultaneously with other crimes. An example of this may include an individual who breaks into a store and steals merchandise. Such a defendant can face Class “D” charges for breaking and entering. They may face concurrent Class “C” charges for both burglary and theft. While defendants are often surprised at the number of charges which can be brought from a single course of conduct, it is important to understand that this “stacking” of charges is common. How any matter will be charged, and how to best defend oneself against the allegations, will always depend on the specifics of the case.
Contact a Little Rock defense lawyer if you have been charged with a felony
If you have been charged with a felony then it is crucial that you speak with an attorney immediately. Doing so will help to ensure that your interests remain protected. Immediate steps which counsel will take include gaining all evidence which the prosecution is required to disclose under Brady v. Maryland, filing any necessary Motions with the Court, and conducting a full investigation. Depending on the facts of the case, and the nature of the charges, it may be possible to exclude witnesses or evidence from trial. Under certain circumstances, such an exclusion may result in a dismissal. Additionally, counsel can seek to defend your case on other grounds such as a mistaken identification, actual innocence, etc. If there is not a path towards outright defending your case then your representative will try to gain a favorable resolution on your behalf.
I am a Little Rock criminal defense lawyer who is devoted to protecting the rights of the accused. I understand that this is a crucial time in your life and my office will give your case the attention it deserves. If you or a loved one are in need of assistance then contact us online or by telephone today to speak with an attorney. We also handle matters in Fayetteville, Fort Smith, Springdale, Jonesboro, North Little Rock, Conway, Rogers, Pine Bluff, and throughout the rest of Arkansas.